The main opposition National Democratic Congress has won general elections in Grenada, according to preliminary results released there.

The NDC has been declared victor in nine of the 15 seats with the remainder going to the New National Party (NNP) of Prime Minister Dr. Keith Mitchell.

Several government ministers including the Finance Minister Gregory Bowen, the Minister of Legal Affairs, Kindra Mathurin-Stewart, the Minister with responsibility for Forestry and Fisheries, Alvin Da Breo as well as the Minister for Infrastructure Development, Nolan Cox and Pamela Moses, the Minster for Information and Communications Technology, all lost their seats in the election.

The NDC leader, Dickon Mitchell, who took over the opposition party in October last year, defeated Foreign Affairs Minister Oliver Joseph  by a margin of 4Four thousand, four hundred and 14, to two thousand, seven hundred and 42 votes in  the St. David  constituency.

Prime Minister Mitchell comfortably won his St. George North West seat. Mitchell, who called the general election ahead of the constitutional March 2023 deadline, polled two thousand, two hundred and 11 votes as against seven hundred and 73 for Jonathan LaCrette of the National Democratic Congress

Share This: